top of page

A Fresher's Guide to University - Advice and Checklists


This time last year, I really needed to read an advice piece and checklist as a Fresher heading to University. I didn't though. In honest truth, I wasn't excited about leaving home and reshaping my life to such significant measures. In fact, I was dreading it. I avoided all advice columns, YouTube videos, Bristol University guides, and I left all the homeware and food shops till last minute. I did hardly any research about my accommodation, e.g where it was in relation to the city, the type of people that applied to the hall etc. As a result, I did struggle my way through first year of university. I arrived on a Sunday September afternoon, and tried to design my university bedroom as similar as I could to my room at home. But it just wasn't the same, and never would be.

As time went on I found my closest friends weren't in my corridor, I didn't feel comfortable in my accommodation and wasn't able to for some time. This for me totally obscured the stereotype of having all your best friends around you, a portrait social media creates. You're thrown into a situation where you're forced to meet new people and live together. And you're not necessarily the same. You drink so much in freshers week to give you enough confidence to say hello, dance and convince yourself you're having a good time. It's a bizarre and quite a sad situation. Of course, this is just my experience, and things did get a lot better, but I want more people to realise that not everyone enjoys freshers week, their first year, or subsequent years for that matter. This isn't a post designed to scare students before they go, but a reassurance to those going that it's ok to find things hard for a while. Your social media will be inundated with videos of clubbing and your friends with new people. You think, oh my god, how have they made friends so quickly!? It's all a facade at first just to fit in. The initial term was very difficult in an atmosphere you're not comfortable in, but I have found amazing friends that I wouldn't change for the world. So if there's any advice I can give here, it is to not give up after a week of not liking University - or months even. Things will get better, even if it's not perfect and how you initially imagined.


Now I have the rather negative part of this post out of the way, I'll move on to what many people find the exciting stage of moving out. This list is one of the things I do wish I had looked more closely into as it would have saved me both time and money before going to Bristol.




1. List one: ROOM DECOR and ROOM ESSENTIALS

There are so many things I failed to think of when it came to new bits and pieces for my room. You forget how much you really use at home, and it's only when you're in times of need that you are reminded how useful those things are.

1. Bedding - in most accommodation, you just get provided with a bed frame and mattress. Remember the following:

  • 2 pillows +

  • Duvet (I had a single bed but bought double bedding, this was so much nicer as single bedding isn't much to keep you warm and tucked in)

  • 2 sets of bed linen - always have a spare. Drinks get spilled, sheets get messy so it's always important to have another set while the other is in the wash.

  • A mattress topper. This might seem a strange one, but we have to remember that some beds in university accommodation have been around for some time and are thus old and uncomfortable. Mattress toppers work a treat.

2. Desk lamp (this may be provided for you, but I also took my own)

3. Hangers - these are something so many people forget about. One of my friends was left with a whole load of hangers by the previous user. But this was by chance, so do remember hangers to hang up your clothes with!

4. Printer

5. Clothes airer/ clothing horse - sometimes air drying is more convenient than a £2.50 tumble dry. + Pegs, for hanging things on the airer and for keeping food fresh.

6. Storage boxes - not everything can always be crammed in cupboards or drawers so boxes under the bed are a great idea

7. A rug/mat. I had a wooden floor so this was really nice to have. Not a necessity, just a nicety.

8. Photo frames / printed photos. This was something I forgot about and other freshers spent ages doing on their first day. Often you find huge notice boards in your room that students put pictures on. I used Snapfish and got some digital images for my wall. It makes it homely (and pretty)

9. Fairy lights (again, all for the aesthetics)

10. Filing system / box to keep important documents.

11. Passport. Sooner or later (most probably sooner as you have to get on the housing ladder pretty quick in your first year) you will need your passport when signing for a house.

12. Medicine box (not just for Fresher's week). Nurofen, strepsils, plasters - you name it, you'll need it.

13. Clothes basket or wash bags

14. Hand towels.

15. Towels for the bathroom. I didn't have an ensuite in my room, but I did have a sink. So one large towel, a hand towel and a face towel are substantial.

16. Tissue boxes

17. Toiletries and toiletry boxes.

18. Hair dryer/straighteners/curlers etc.

19. Mirrors - while I only took a face makeup mirror, one of my friends brought a full length one with her. In most uni rooms you should find a full length mirror on the wall.

20. Wall hangings? These were popular in Bristol

21. Pretty storage keepers/containers/pots - these come in useful for stationary, makeup and I also put my utensils in them!

22. Ear buds - If your windows are anything like mine were in student accommodation, I would highly recommend taking noise muffling accessories with you. I found noise really hard to deal with in my hall.

24. Blanket

25. Room diffuser

CATERED STUDENTS ONLY: As a catered student in first year, I still found I needed cutlery and crockery when I couldn't make it to the set times of dinner or wasn't provided food on weekends. 2 sets of knives/forks/spoons, an average sized plate, a bowl, mugs and several glasses will see you through. I'd also recommend paper cups/plastic shot glasses for nights out as it's hard to get rid of the alcohol fumes in drinking glasses without a dish washer!

What I will say is don't leave your room empty at home. There will come a time where you want to go home (for me this was after about a day, but hey ho) and you still want it to be home when you return. If your bedroom has been completely stripped it doesn't provide you a weekend of home comfort.


LIST 2: CLOTHING and SHOES

Unlike a holiday, you're at uni for a long time. I didn't take everything straight away however. I took a fair amount with me in suitcases, and then when my Mum came down to visit she would bring some new and take old back. This system worked well.

Clothes:

1. Warm coats. You're at uni for the majority of the cold months. Take sensible layers

2. Comforts: trackie bottoms, hoodies, sweatshirts

3. All underwear - and buy extra socks. You'll find yourself running out of socks quite quickly and it becomes costly to wash

4. Jumpers

5. Tops - a "nice top" is always needed for nights out.

6. Trousers and jeans

7. Skirts

8. Day dresses

9. Tights

10. Gym wear / sports kit

11. Hats/gloves/scarves

12. Dresses. Nights out significantly change in terms of dress code. You find yourself ditching heels and tight skirts for grubby trainers and ripped jeans. But I still took dresses with me. You'll need them for formals, end of term/year events or weekend nights out.

13. Suit and tie. Guys, take one suit, and a couple of formal shirts. These will come in handy on sports events/socials and formals

14. Pyjamas

15. Dressing gown. I actually forgot my dressing gown/thought I wouldn't need. I thought I'd only wear it in my room and could chuck a hoody on instead. If you're in communal showers, take it!

16. (Bikini) I always get asked about this one. Personally, I never needed the bikini I took to uni. It could come in useful for a social outfit however.

Shoes:

1. Trainers - whether that counts as your adidas superstars or your Nike free runs.

2. Boots - these became my everyday at uni. Find a comfortable pair of boots, especially if you're in a city university with lots of walking.

3. Flip flops - for your trips to and from the shower

4. Slippers

5. Day shoes, e.g. converse/Supergas/superstars etc.

6. Sports specific shoes

7. Heels - I only ever needed one pair

8. Formal shoes

List 3: KITCHEN ESSENTIALS

1. Saucepan - for any pan, I really recommend non-stick. Spend a few more pennies, as at the end of the day, they last longer.

2. Frying pan

3. Casserole dish / Pyrex dish

4. Cake tins for housemates birthdays

5. Oven mitt

6. Baking tray (s)

7. Spatula

8. Wooden spoons

9. Colander

10. Chopping board

11. Kitchen knives

12. Fairy liquid & sponges = cleaning detergents and washing up gloves.

13. Clothes washing detergents

14. Tinfoil/cling film/sealable bags/tupaware boxes/ parchment paper

15. Crockery: plates, bowls etc.

16. Cutlery: knives, forks, spoons - large serving spoon / Cutlery draw separator

17. Drinking Glasses

18. Kitchen towels

19. Peeler

20. Ice cream scoop

21. Whisk

22. Masher - or be lazy and buy ready made mashed potato

23. Weighing scales

24. Tongs

25. Mixing bowls - plastic is best

26. Odour repellents / air fresheners

Miscellaneous: Blendville active smoothie maker. Other appliances like these are often favored by students but obviously not a necessity. George Forman grills, toastie machines, or waffle makers were favourites in Bristol.

EXTRAS:

1. Face paint - you'll need a pack for socials or Halloween

2. Fancy dress - again, socials

3. Glitter

4. A good sized weekend bag

5. Rucksacks / Shoulder bags

6. Stationary - you my have left school but you still need your pencil case in tact. I also preferred hand writing lecture notes in notebooks, and then typing up for revision.

7. Alcohol - I'll leave it up to you to do the rest of your drinks and food list!

With some of these essentials, I would wait until you get to University accommodation to see how much you need/if you need it. There is only so much space available!

Hopefully sharing this will be beneficial to some of you going to university for the first time in September/October. It may also be a useful reminder and checklist for those of you moving into houses also. I'd love this to be shared as much as possible, and please do comment below if you think of anything else to add.

Good luck!

All My LittleMauve Love,

Hannah x

Disclaimer: All photos are my own, but, I'm certainly not the first and not the last to write their own Fresher's guide and checklist!

bottom of page