top of page

My Top 4 Mac Lipsticks

Having had an incredibly busy month with final submissions and exams at University, it is fair to say I haven't had a lot of time to do my favourite things. This bank holiday weekend, I spent a substantial portion of my time going back to my old textile roots and making bits and bobs to do with home decor. I ideally wanted to formulate a post on textile making today, however, I haven't quite had time to photograph all the steps, so this should be on its way soon!


Today, instead, I thought I would share with you my favourite Mac Cosmetics Lipsticks. I'm not one to suit darker colours on the lip, so I always tend to go for pinky pigments or nude shades.

With Mac, as with most cosmetic brands, there are significant variations in pigmentation and moisturising qualities of the lipstick. Trying on different colours in store is definitely the best recommendation, however if you don't have time, here are my opinions of three different types of lipstick that Mac sell - all for £16.50.

-Glaze

-Satin

-Matte

1. My No. 1 lipstick. Lipstick Type: GLAZE. Shade: Pervette. A76

The Glaze type of Lipstick is personally my favourite, and it's the creaminess given that I like best about it. As opposed to matte shades that can often feel quite drying on the lips, the glaze range feels just as good as an ordinary lip balm when applied. As you can see from the photo, this lipstick is not about serious pigmentation. Rather, it is about giving a little shimmer and moisture. I wear this pretty much everyday...!

2. Lipstick type: MATTE. Shade: Pink Plaid. 33.

This second lipstick is similar in colouration to Pervette, but different in terms of pigmentation and moisture. Rather, as I find with a lot of matte lipsticks, this is quite drying and has a tendency to crack my lips as I suffer from dry skin. Nevertheless, I do love the colour of this one, though it does not contain the subtle sparkle that the glaze lipsticks do. As it is similar to my natural lip colour, I don't have to regularly apply this one. Perhaps the matte range is something to think about if you do suffer from drier lips that are prone to chapping.

3. Lipstick type: MATTE. Shade: Lazy Lullaby. A46

Again, a Matte lipstick - however this one is tricky. Unlike the Pink Plaid shade where you can easily get away with the lipstick colour blending with your natural shade of lip, this doesn't work. I specifically wanted to picture the trickiness to constantly keep the lilac shade firmly on the lower lip. Therefore while this is such an interesting and beautiful colour; it is more high maintenance.

4. Lipstick type: SATIN. Shade: Cherish. A15.

Finally, a different lipstick type: Satin. This is comparably similar to the appearance of the matte lipstick, however it varies slightly in it's more dewy shine. While it is not as moisturising as the glaze lipsticks, it is better than the matte in terms of application and not chapping. This is one of Mac's staple nude lip colours alongside the best seller 'Velvet Teddy'. It always gives off a slight peachy/orange hue which I really like.

I hope you may have found this blog post somewhat helpful if you're thinking about purchasing Mac Lipsticks, or if you're interested in finding pink/nude shades which are better for complementing your skin colour.

All My LittleMauve Love,

Hannah x

Disclaimer: All photos are my own, and all lipsticks can be found on the Mac Cosmetics website.

bottom of page