top of page

Fashion: Where I Find Occasion Dresses

Over the past couple of weeks, I have received questions from a few people about where I find dresses for special occasions. As end of year celebrations are coming up, including graduation for final year students at University, prom for those at school, and end of season dinners, I thought it was best to collate all my ideas in one blog post.


1. The first dress I thought I'd mention was my prom dress for Leavers Ball last year. I find prom dress shops so hard to source locally. For my Year 11 prom, I bought a dress online, and though I still loved the colour and style, it wasn't exactly as the picture suggested. For the best quality, but admittedly quite steep prices, I highly recommend Dress2Party. I visited the shop based in London, however there are a chain of shops over the UK which stock dresses from Sherri Hill, Jovani and Mori Lee. The customer service is great, and alterations - I believe - are free of charge.

If you're looking for long dresses of a similar price range, Ted Baker always have beautiful long maxi dresses, usually a chiffon material!

2. The dress pictured below I found on a small boutique website, ModaMinx. This website has many lovely dresses, but, for considerably less than those from Dress2Party. The quality is thus not as good, however when you have a great boyfriend who irons your dress before wearing it while you do your makeup, it's not so bad! These dresses just need a bit more TLC.

3. If you're looking for shorter dresses, I have a few websites I always go to. This particular rose gold tie wrap dress that I wore for my 18th was from Billie Faiers range on In The Style. Other websites along the same lines may be Missguided, Lipsy, or RARE London.

4. Another one of my favourite dresses that I wore to my Christmas Formal was from a small boutique, 'DressMeZara'. There is not always a lot of stock with these smaller brands, so if you see a dress you like, make sure to buy it straight away! There are some beautiful things on here though.

5. ASOS. Perhaps a given, but an online stockist that should not be forgotten! I bought this midi dress last year for my School's parents day. ASOS have a perfect combination of affordable dresses, yet normally always good quality.

6. Other websites I didn't want to rule out, but notably one's which annoyingly bring rather extortionate shipping charges, are dresses I buy from Australia. There are some beautiful formal, occasion dresses from overseas.

The specific Australian brands I always go to are:

1. Mura Boutique

2. Tigermist

3. Sabo Skirt

The one below I bought from Mura Boutique for New Years two years ago. I would never rule out a skirt and top combination like this for celebrations.

I hope this may give you some inspiration if you're stuck on where to look!!

All my LittleMauve Love,

Hannah x

Disclaimer: All my photos are my own, and all outfits are tagged appropriately.

bottom of page