top of page

Beauty: Dressing Table Decor

For years when I was younger, I always desired to have a pretty dressing table for my makeup. Some time later, I finally got round to it. My source of inspiration came from many places: Pinterest, online boutique's or small gift stores, blogs, youtubers and even garden centres... Though I bought some of these items a long time ago, and therefore they may not be sold in stores anymore, I thought giving some visual imagery may work just as well.



My dressing table is part of the structure of my wardrobe, so I don't have a set of drawers like some people have. Rather, I keep my main makeup items I use on a daily basis in the pots and on the surface surrounding the mirror, and other makeup in storage boxes beneath. If I were to have a full dressing table, I would shop at the White Lighthouse. I considered shopping for furniture and accessories at this store for quite some time, though eventually decided to convert my wardrobe space. As far as I'm aware, this is an online furniture company only based in Belfast, however delivery around the UK is more than possible. Their decor for bedrooms is beautiful. I've included a link below where you can find similar mirrors and stools to the one's I have pictured:



Other retailers do however sell furniture items along similar lines, and I've found IKEA to be so so helpful for things like this.

Equally, John Lewis, House of Fraser, or Next Home are all large department stores which have furniture sections where you may find what you're looking for.


Most of my makeup is kept in pretty glass jars or pots that I've found in rather obscure places, however similar replicas can be found online. If you are reading this post in Buckinghamshire where I live, these are my favourite stores to find little decorative items like these:


1. All About Rose. This is a small shop based in Great Missenden near the railway station that sells lovely furniture pieces, and the ladies who own the shop are so nice and helpful. I got my orchid flower from this shop that's pictured in the first image.

2. Temptation Gifts. A few of these are dotted around Buckinghamshire in Amersham and Beaconsfield, however they also do an online service:

3. Van Hage Garden Centre/ Hildreths Garden Centre. I know - rather a strange one, however all the glass jars and small ceramic pots were bought from here! They always have some similar decorative pieces in there, so I'm sure you would be able to find something.


4. Vinegar Hill, Bristol.


If you're a Bristol student - Vinegar Hill is where I have seen lots of pretty home items before, and where I found many of my Mother's Day gifts. They do post around the UK however so you are in luck:



Hopefully this may gave you some inspiration for your bedroom if you're thinking of changing up your dressing table a little! Or, if you're simply in need of some small pretty storage pots, then the links may help you to find what you're looking for.



I hope you all enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

All my LittleMauve Love,

Hannah x

Disclaimer: All photos are my own, and the stores where pieces are bought from have been credited!

bottom of page