top of page

Lifestyle: Last Minute Mother's Day Ideas!


With Mother's Day on Sunday, I thought it appropriate to dedicate this week's blog post to some last minute inspiration. Mother's, we can all agree, deserve it all. I always think of a saying I've seen on social media: 'Mother's Day is hard when your Mum deserves an island and you can only afford a candle'. It's true. Though they never expect much, they continually provide their care to us and we owe so much to them that is often quite impossible to give. So even if you can only afford a candle, or maybe you're just stuck for ideas because they already have it all, I've produced a list of things that you may be able to get just in time. Some of them can be bought, others don't have to be!


1. A cup of tea, and breakfast in bed. For all the food she makes for you, return her with some TLC to wake up to!

2. A simple handwritten card. If you're away from home like me, a card from you can mean more than just a text message. If you think it's too late to get one delivered in time for Sunday, send it anyway! Belated cards are better than no card at all. This one below is from Paperchase, £2.25

Card from Paperchase, £2.25

3. Some form of pretty stationary! My mum always uses sticky notes, so this year I have gone down a flamingo theme of presents that I know she'll use all the time. These ones I found in a shop in Bristol called Vinegar Hill who do have a website, but they're a Sara Miller design if you want to find them elsewhere. £9

Sara Miller, £9.00
Sara Miller, £9.00

4. Something for the kitchen. I always find buying gifts to use in the kitchen go down well because they're useful. Does Mum need a new set of pretty hand towels? Cups or bowls? Or even new trays to replace the greasy ones in the oven?! She may not be too overwhelmed, but she'll use them everyday. This year, I've got Mum a Kate Spade thermal mug, as her current one is getting quite old. £16

Kate Spade, £16.00

5. A new clutch or makeup bag. These are two of my own which I love for an evening out. Simple designs, yet pretty! The first is a Katie Loxton design that retails at about £17, and the second a Ta Da cosmetic bag, £8

First image, £16.99 John Lewis    Second Image, £8.00

6. A new phone or tablet case. These two below are from Ted Baker, and are incredibly protective. Therefore not only do they look pretty, but serve their function well. £40

Ted Baker Accessories, 'Illuminated Bloom' phone case still in stock: £40

7. Continuing with the Ted Baker theme, a water bottle. My sister bought me this water bottle for Christmas and I absolutely love it. Such a beautiful design that is so different and individual to other water bottles. Yes, at a price though. £22

Ted Baker glass water bottle, £22.00

8. A more expensive item, perhaps a new purse or handbag? Maybe it's best you go with them to choose one they've been wanting for a while so they'll use it and love it. Or pick one you like and get the gift receipt.


9. A new makeup item. I was continually changing my mind about whether to get my Mum something new for her makeup bag this Mother's Day! Maybe ask her subtly if she's running out of a particular favourite of hers, or check in her makeup bag for empty products! £16.50 [Lipstick]


Dior Eye Shadow Palette - this product is no longer sold but similar copies are £42.50

Mac Lipstick, Pervette, £16.50

It appears most of my recommendations are quite pink, probably because my Mum and I love the colour. Of course however, there are many items, if not the same item, that come in different colours, so fear not! I hope nevertheless that some of these ideas may give you some food for thought if you're still in need of a present to get.

Otherwise, to all the Mother's out there, Happy Mother's Day for Sunday!


All my LittleMauve Love,

Hannah x

Disclaimer: All products that are currently being sold are tagged. Simply over the picture to find price and brand details. All my own pictures.






















bottom of page