top of page

Baking: Banana Bread Loaf

Banana bread is one of my favourite cakes, and with the right ingredients, it can be a nutritious and healthy option. This banana bread collates a few of my favourite recipes that I have previously found online and in cookery books. Sometimes I like the honey in one recipe, sometimes I like adding vanilla essence that's on the ingredients list in an alternative one, so this banana cake synthesises my favourite ingredients into one.


I will be detailing a step by step process of how to make a whole loaf, so bare this in mind when taking the measurements if you desire to make smaller/larger loaves. This recipe uses NO extra sugar - just the natural sugar in honey, or if you would prefer, maple syrup.


Ingredients List:

2-3 bananas depending on size.

1/2 cup of honey or maple syrup. I love using the Manuka honey you can find in Holland & Barrett. Not only is it known to have natural medicinal and health benefitting properties, but it will provide us with natural sugars without having to add more. Or otherwise for a good maple syrup, I like using Butternut Mount Farm's 100% Pure Vermont Maple Syrup which I shall be in my ingredients today.

1/3 of Olive Oil or Coconut Oil. Coconut Oil has proven to be a good health alternative, just ensure you don't add too much to the extent your food tastes of coconut! Olive oil is equally a much better alternative to vegetable oil - a very fatty substance.

2 eggs

1 teaspoon of baking soda

A sprinkling of Cinnamon

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

2 cups of flour. For the large loaf, I tend to use self raising flour to achieve a nice rise in the cake. Alternatively, using whole wheat flour will again be healthier.

[Any other ingredients of your choice, sometimes I like adding dark chocolate chunks, white chocolate chips, blueberries or raspberries.]

The quantity of ingredients stated perfectly fits into a 19 x 9 x 6.5cm tin - I believe a standard loaf tin.

Firstly, turn the oven to 160 degrees. The temperature shouldn't be too high for cake baking, so this temperature is just right for the length of cooking time.

Take a large bowl and add the eggs, coconut oil, honey/maple syrup and vanilla extract - following the appropriate measurements listed above. Take a whisk and stir.


The next step is adding the bananas. Some of you may like the texture of chunky bananas embedded within the cake. For me, I like a smoother texture with the occasional chunk, so I use my Breville Active Blend mixer here. Adding a 1/3 of water to the largest beaker, I whizz this up for 20 seconds max. Alternatively you can mash the bananas or use an electric mixer. Add the bananas to the bowl and stir.


Next, take your teaspoon and measure out the cinnamon and baking soda. Stir these in again. Then, gradually sift your choice of flour [whether self-raising, plain, or whole-wheat] into the mix. Take a wooden spoon and envelope the mixture in a circular motion until smooth. It is at this point you can add in your own choice of extras. Today I've added a few small chocolate pieces into the mix that were left overs from Christmas.


To avoid more washing up, and using greasing materials, I love using Lakeland's non-stick Loaf Tin Liners that withstands oven temperatures of up to 230 degrees, and can be used in the microwave. Pour the mixture into the tin, and you're set. Put the tin in the oven for roughly an hour. Sometimes banana cakes need a little more time. Originally when making banana cakes I thought they were never ready - if you put a knife in the mix and it's still moist - if it's been in for an hour it will most probably be ready. The bananas retain the moisture, so don't be fooled if your knife has mix on it. Keep an eye on your cake, and if necessary cover the cake with tin foil, this still cooks the cake but avoids burning the top.

Carefully take the tin out of the oven, and let it cool for 10 minutes or so. By that point you will be able to remove the liner with ease. I leave this on a cooling rack for a couple of hours to cool - but if you are hungry 30 minutes is fine. Sprinkle lightly with a bit of cinnamon on the top if you prefer. Enjoy!

Happy baking, and All my LittleMauve Love,

Hannah x




Disclaimer: All my own photos for this one - but - I'm not a cook!

bottom of page